Tualatin Valley Community Band
Tualatin Valley Community Band
TVCB logo

Who We Are

The Tualatin Valley Community Band (TVCB) is led by Kevin Soon and is composed of volunteer individuals who have played musical instruments in high school, college and with other groups. Some members had not played for many years, but have listened to TVCB at our free public concerts and joined. We are currently in our 30th season of celebrating and sharing music with our community.

TVCB is a 501(c)(3) Organization. We are a not for profit, tax exempt organization recognized by the state of Oregon and the IRS. Contributions are tax deductible to the extent provided by law. Click here for more information on how to contribute to our organization.

Music Leadership

Kevin Soon - Music Director
Ron Johnson - Associate Music Director
Steve Heuser - Music Director Emeritus
Arthur Breur - Composer in Residence

Board of Directors

The TVCB Board meets three times per year on Zoom. We hope to get together in person when the pandemic conditions allow. Interested parties are invited to attend and all board meetings are open to the public. Meeting dates will be posted to the TVCB page and sent out to TVCB when a specific date and location is determined.

Although anyone may attend and contribute on any topic, only board members (president, president-elect and past president, board members at large) may vote on matters brought before the board. Meetings start promptly at the appointed time due to the amount of work at each meeting.

  • Phil Pasteris, President
  • Tim Roberts, Secretary
  • Tom Lovett, Treasurer
  • Kevin Soon, Music Director
  • Ron Johnson, Associate Music Director
  • Howard Sonstegard, Associate Music Director
  • Chris Lewis, Music Librarian
  • Lonn Aldridge, Past President (2008-2009)
  • Barry Albertson, Former Tigard-Tualatin School District Board Member
  • Joanne Bengtson, Executive Assistant to the Tigard City Manager and Mayor
  • Lee Boekelheide, TVCB Member
  • Steve Heuser, TVCB Music Director Emeritus
  • Sue Lamb, Past President (2009-2011)
  • Robyn McKenzie, TVCB Member
  • Steve Norcross, TVCB Member
  • Ron Royse, Retired Tigard Music Owner

Back to top


The Tualatin Valley Community Band (TVCB) (hereafter known as the Band) is an all-volunteer group from the Tualatin Valley area who have come together to have fun playing music together. Briefly stated, the goals of the Band are:

a. Share our love of music with one another and our communities
b. Have fun; allow all members of the Band to have an activity that gives them pleasure and enjoyment.
c. Encourage one another to perform music to the best of their ability, in tune, with a balanced sound.
d. Provide a forum for individuals to practice their musical skills and to grow musically.
e. Enhance the music education of middle and high school students.
f. Provide an avenue for adults who have been away from music for many years to start again.
g. Welcome all (amateurs and professionals) who share our goals and purposes to contribute their talents to the community.
h. Support the community with concerts for special events and celebrations.

Back to top


General Membership Policies

a. There are no recurring membership fees or dues. Members are expected to purchase a TVCB Band Shirt ($21) for designated concerts and an embossed black music folder ($19), total $40.

Summer members are expected to purchase a TVCB Band Shirt ($21), which can be returned for a $16 refund.

Students are exempt from all charges.

Members are also given the opportunity to contribute to special projects (e.g. a holiday gift for the Music Director and Associate Director).

b. New members will be asked to fill out an information sheet and will be provided a membership "Welcome Kit" consisting of:

  1. Listing of TVCB staff - Music Directors, Section Leader, President.
  2. TVCB Policies and Procedures.
  3. TVCB Homepage member section logon and password.

c. There are no auditions.
d. Musicians do not compete for chairs; all members have the opportunity to play all parts in coordination with their section leader.

Click here for detailed policies and procedures (.pdf format) »

Back to top